CP on Facebook


CP on Twitter
Print Email

Best of Baltimore

City Paper's 2013 Best of Baltimore

Photo: Sam Holden, License: N/A

Sam Holden

John Waters and Rodney Henry

We’ve been at the Best of Baltimore game for a long time here at Baltimore’s Best Alternative Weekly and we’ve noticed some trends. Certain people, places, and institutions have come up as winners in one category or another year after year. So this time around, we’re inducting some of the Best Perennial Winners into City Paper’s Best of Baltimore Hall of Fame.

The first inductee can be no other than the man on the cover wearing a designer plaid suit and holding a pie over his pecker. Baltimore could not ask for a better person to represent us than John Waters, who has won lots of Best of Baltimore awards over the years, including “Best Local Eccentric” and “Best Role Model,” and who represents everything that is good, bad, ugly, and hilarious about Charm City. He’s joined on the cover by Rodney Henry, this year’s winner for “Best Baltimorean” , partly because Henry, who championed our town on his valiant run to be the next Food Network star, also has his own unique (pie) style and sense of humor, and partly because we hoped it would get John to hold a pie over his dirty shame. (It worked!)

We hope you’ll enjoy reading about all six of our Hall of Fame inductees, including the Baltimore Museum of Art and the Helmand, and the more than 300 other Best of Baltimore winners. As long as we’ve been putting out this issue, and as much work as goes into it, we still love celebrating the city and the Best it has to offer.

City Paper’s Best of Baltimore 2013 was written by Baynard Woods, Edward Ericson Jr., Van Smith, Jenn Ladd, Brandon Weigel, Joe MacLeod, Evan Serpick, J.M. Giordano, Jasmine Sarp, Athena Towery, Wendy Ward, Al Shipley, Bret McCabe, Jaye Hunnie, Jim Meyer, Sam Holden, Lawrence Burney, Cara Ober, Brandon Soderberg, Josh Sisk, Michael Shank, Andrew Zaleski, Jill Yesko, Matt Kelley, John Houser III, Michelle Gienow, Jim Meyer, Jim Burger, Henry Hong, Geoffrey Himes, and Charles Cohen. Interns: Melaika Campbell, Megan Bryne, Chelsea Duff, Dean Freeman, Rebekah Kirkman, Sarah LaCorte, Rebecca Scott Lord, Michael McGurk, Sarah Nielsen, Patrick Pilkey, Michael Reyes, Kevin West, Lauren Yeh. Illustrations by Alex Fine and Dave Plunkert. Photographs by Jim Burger, Frank Hamilton, Sam Holden, Michelle Gienow, J.M. Giordano, Patrick Pilkey, Rarah, Noah Scialom, Josh Sisk, and Jefferson Jackson Steele. Cover photograph by Sam Holden, with thanks to Rodney Henry and John Waters.

We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.
comments powered by Disqus